Author Topic: Opera  (Read 9262 times)

FyberOptic

  • King of Earth
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2522
  • Oh god what is that?
    • Fybertech.com
Opera
« on: November 29, 2005, 02:21:08 pm »
I got to tinkering around at using UserJS scripts for Opera today, and found there's a couple of useful ones.  First, is the Autosizer, which lets you resize images in the browser window if they're too large to fit.  Firefox and IE can do this already, and thanks to this, it works even better than their versions.  Second is the Image-preloader, which takes page listings of images ("Index Of" types of pages) and pre-loads every image, so that when you click on one they pop up instantly.  Having the pre-loader and autosizer together seem to be handy additions to the browser.

But then I got to thinking that maybe 4chan could use a pre-loading feature, so that one could just let the whole page and all its images pre-load, then go back and view the ones you wanted without waiting forever for'em to load.  So I modified the pre-loader script, changing:

if (document.title.indexOf("Index of") != -1) {

to

if (document.title.indexOf("Index of") != -1 || window.location.href.indexOf("4chan.org") != -1) {

And it seems to work like a charm.  4chan was running fairly well when I tried it, but later today when it's bogged down will be the real test . . !

Anyhoo, this just scratches the surface of UserJS scripts.  Apparently you can do practically anything with'em, and since it uses Javascript, it's even better than Firefox plugins, because they're easier to write.  UserJS.org has a bunch of others to check out.

Buzzard

  • Flying biker bandit
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 856
  • So I heard you like Mudkips
Re: Opera
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2005, 03:17:23 pm »
Pretty cool. I'll install that stuff on Opera and try them out.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2005, 03:20:08 pm by Buzzard »
Ten years to the minute, no longer in it.

Iddi

  • I'm not just a
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • '\(^o^)/'
Re: Opera
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2005, 02:32:12 am »
hate opera

I never liked that auto-resize feature, Because if an image is too big I just zoom out. It's as easy as that. But thanks nonetheless, those are some great add-ons! :D

FyberOptic

  • King of Earth
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2522
  • Oh god what is that?
    • Fybertech.com
Re: Opera
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2006, 06:10:25 pm »
I don't know if I ever posted this elsewhere, but here's the url to that site which has lots of custom buttons for Opera. 

Useful ones I took are like the "Open page in IE" and "Open page in Firefox", which I renamed to InIE and InFF. 

I also took the one to hide Opera to the tray, and put it near the top right (along with those other two mentioned above).  You can press control-h to hide the browser of course, but sometimes I wanted to do it fralm the mouse, and have been using it ever since . . ! 

Boris

  • The Money Man
  • Collguy
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 674
  • Implying I need a job
    • You're lookin at it
Re: Opera
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2007, 04:51:16 pm »
This topic has not been posted in for 120 days it says, cool.

Anyway, I wanted to show off my setup in Opera for Fyber's benefit, just so he can see how I roll.
<Armature> i just really want centaur Azula

FyberOptic

  • King of Earth
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2522
  • Oh god what is that?
    • Fybertech.com
Re: Opera
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2007, 04:52:49 pm »
Boy howdy that looks strange to me.  I didn't realize it could be stripped down to that extent..!  And to think, some people complain that it's "too complicated".

Anyhoo, here's mine by comparison.  The Opera icon on the right there next to InIE and InFF hides mine to the tray.

Boris

  • The Money Man
  • Collguy
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 674
  • Implying I need a job
    • You're lookin at it
Re: Opera
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2007, 05:00:02 pm »
I should mention in addition to mine looking much simpler, its designed to run in a way they called SDI, Single Document Interface. Basically it means I don't want to use tabs or quick searches or the like, I only need a url bar and if I want another thing it gets opened in another window instance of the browser.
<Armature> i just really want centaur Azula

Boris

  • The Money Man
  • Collguy
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 674
  • Implying I need a job
    • You're lookin at it
Re: Opera
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2008, 08:58:49 pm »
Since RT was curious, here's my modern opera setup.
<Armature> i just really want centaur Azula

FyberOptic

  • King of Earth
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2522
  • Oh god what is that?
    • Fybertech.com
Re: Opera
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2008, 02:30:44 pm »
Ever since I switched to this theme the other day, I keep thinking I'm tabbing back to Safari.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2008, 07:56:28 pm by FyberOptic »